Board & Staff

Executive Director




Tessa Banks

SMART Program Coordinator


Marquita Cross

SMART Program Coordinator


Kaitlyn Dodgen

SMART Program Coordinator


Angela Hyon

LIT Program Coordinator


Evanna Liewald

SMART Program Coordinator


Julian Martinez

SMART Program Coordinator


Jannice Newson

SMART Program Coordinator


Rafael Roman

SMART Program Coordinator


Aiyanna Ross

SMART Program Coordinator


Collin Warren

SMART Program Coordinator


Board of Directors

  • Howard Meyer, Chair 
    Executive Vice President, Zeller

  • Tommy Sternberg, Vice Chair 
    Global Healthcare Analyst, William Blair

  • James Atkinson, Treasurer 
    Retired CFO

  • Marc McCallister, Secretary 
    Partner, Cavanagh Law Group

  • Isaiah Brooms, Director
    Tutoring Chicago student alumnus

  • Alfred Brown, Director
    Retired CPS administer and corporate executive

  • Chris Cassata, Director
    Managing Director, Cushman & Wakefield

  • Zack Fishman, Director
    Founder, Chess Education Partners

  • Trisha Hunt, Director
    Assistant Vice President of Business Operations Analytics and Finance, Federal Reserve Bank

  • Derrick Johnson, Director 
    Senior Vice President, Zeller

  • Will Johnson, Director 
    Chief Executive Officer, Harris Poll

  • Mike King, Director
    SVP, Financial Markets and Funds Group, Wintrust Financial

  • John Kruper, Director
    Chief Learning Officer, Sykes Enterprises

  • Lauren Martinez, Director
    Performance Marketing Leader, Kimberly-Clark

  • Megan Milich, Director
    Director of Finance – Accounts Receivable, Redwood Logistics

  • Peggy Scanlan, Director 
    CEO and Founder, Dragonflyt LLC

  • Nicky Silva, Director
    Senior Manager, PwC

  • Katherine Welsh, Director
    Principal, Chicago Public Schools

  • Royce Willis, II, Director
    Found and Principal Consultant, EW Consulting LLC

  • Hawke Yoon, Director
    Attending Surgeon; Assistant Professor, Lurie Children’s Hospital; Feinberg School of Medicine

Tutoring Chicago is looking for leaders to fill positions on its Board of Directors, the elected group of volunteers who support the work of Tutoring Chicago and provide mission-based leadership and strategic governance. 

Executive Advisory Board

  • Amy Boyle, President
    Director, Human Resources & Communications at CIBC Wealth Management

  • Gail Babitt
    Chief Executive Officer, Cedar Electronics

  • Jill Christie
    President, Tuft & Associates

  • Rathi Dasgupta
    Vice President, Consulting, Retail and Consumer Services Vertical, Zensar Technologies

  • Andy Konchan
    CTO, Calamos Investments

  • Barbara Lorsbach
    Founder, Great Hearts Initiative

  • Micah Materre
    TV Anchor, WGN Television

  • Stacey Meyer
    School Board Member

  • Tom Staunton
    Partner, Miller Shakman & Beem

Neighborhood Ambassadors

  • Elizabeth Aguilar
    Assistant Director of the Spanish Basic Language Program, UIC

  • Shalita Ativie
    Faculty Member, CPS

  • LaJoyce Brown
    Parent of Tutoring Chicago Alumni

  • Duane Davis
    Executive Director, K12 Education Initiatives

  • Eric Davis
    Executive Director, The BASE Chicago

  • Ja’Net Defell
    Program Manager, Community Desk Chicago

  • Ralph Felarca
    Application Development Manager, Accenture

  • Steve Filer
    Consultant, Slalom

  • Charlie Howard
    Founder, Test Prep Chicago

  • Akeem Hunter
    Account Manager, Cisco

  • Carl Hurdlik
    CPS Dept. of Family & Community Engagement in Education, Chicago Public Schools

  • Tim Josupait
    Regional Sales Manager – Americas, WiseTech Global

  • Anna Lehner
    Director of Development, Zacharias Sexual Abuse Center

  • Ebony Muhammad-Mitchell
    Owner, Barba Window Inc. 

  • Daniel Nunez

  • Charles Neely
    Dean of Students, Beasley Academic Center

  • Charles Parker
    Dean of Students, Beasley Academic Center

  • Andrew Perez
    Copywriter, Chicago Public Schools

  • Dominique Price 
    Staff Attorney, Keller Lenkner

  • Martha Smith
    Account Manager, TEKsystems

  • Collin Warren
    Program Coordinator, Tutoring Chicago

  • Eric Williams
    Founder & Creative Director, Silverroom

Tutoring Associate Board (TAB)

The TAB is a junior board comprised of dedicated veteran volunteers, whose intent is to support the mission of Tutoring Chicago. The TAB serves as leaders of each classroom, supporting the volunteer population. They also assist with fundraising, event planning, and communication.

The Tutoring Associate Board (TAB)
  • Leigh Borgeson, President

  • Mark Joyner, Vice President

  • Jourj Baghdisar, Treasurer

  • Yaseen Ali

  • Carly Anderson

  • Yaqoota Aziz

  • Krystin Boice

  • DeVon Chandler

  • Angelo Dolojan

  • Phillip Dukes

  • Raphael Felarca

  • Maddie Furrer

  • Becca Gillett

  • Kimberly Gudewicz

  • Harrison Harada

  • Elle Hill

  • Zoheb Khan

  • Sam Kochan

  • Benjamin Levy

  • Christina Liou

  • Grace McCauley

  • Maggie McNelis

  • Connor Merley

  • Gretchen Moake

  • Roy Morgan

  • Peter O’Malley

  • Ryka Ohana

  • Reena Patel

  • Sean Pradhan

  • Stephanie Racine

  • Marcus Samuel

  • Sanjana Shah

  • Kathleen Shanahan

  • Sam Sherman

  • Anna Shiring

  • Lexi Smolyar

  • Megan Sorey

  • Vinay Srinivasan

  • Randee Stelman

  • Daniel Troutman

  • Andrew Walker

  • Madisen Warning

  • Jenny Zhang

Tutoring Chicago

Subscribe to our newsletter!

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We respect your privacy! We will not spam you and you may unsubscribe anytime!